Cray-Cray

Sat at the table. Looked around.
Saw that we were all crazy.
Saw that we were all mad, here.
Saw that crazy
Maybe, crazy
Crazy
Is what ties us up together
And keeps us from spraying apart

Saw that my crazy
Was different from their crazy
If I wasn’t careful,
Their brand of nuts,
Of cuckoo, of barmy,
Of straight-up cray-cray
Was going to bleed into mine
And tarnish it

Stood up from table. Picked up my crazy,
Tucked it under my arm
And scooted away
Without trying to be impolite

Walked out
Into the street
The street in its maddening glory

Put my crazy
On the ground
And ran,
As it followed me
On its leash

Leave a Reply

